UK Political Betting Odds

Updated on July 24, 2019 – We always make an effort to keep our content up-to-date, though some of the information might be outdated in the article.

Next British Prime Minister Odds

The British Prime Minister is a political figure with major political power. The Prime Minister is a title that outranks everyone except the Royal Family, senior ecclesiastical figures, and the Lord Chancellor. The PM’s seat of power is at 10 Downing Street in London (colloquially known as simply Number 10), with Chequers Court being the PM’s official retreat.

The Cabinet and British PM are held accountable for their actions to the electorate, Her Majesty, Parliament, and their political party. Theresa May is the current Prime Minister in the UK, having been appointed by the Queen in July 2016. May comes from the Conservative Party and succeeded David Cameron, who stepped down following voting on the famous Brexit deal.

The Prime Minister is the head of the UK Government and usually commands the majority in the House of Commons. The incumbent PM has legislative and executive powers, guiding the law-making process and enacting their party’s agenda. In short, the British PM is the face and voice of the Monarch at home and abroad.

The Office of the Prime Minister is one of the Great Offices of State. The office itself is not established by constitutional documents, which is why the Monarch appoints the PM. Before 1902, the PM came from the House of Lords if his government had a majority. This changed with the Parliament Act of 1911 which put the House of Lords on the margins of British politics.

Update (24/05/2019): As it has been announced, following the unsuccessful Brexit negotiations, the current British Prime Minister, Theresa May resigns. She will officially retire after July 24th 2019, one day after the new leader of the Conservative Party will be made public. Her two most probable successors are Boris Johnson, former Foreign Secretary and former Mayor of London and Jeremy Hunt, current Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs.

Update (23/07/2019): As of July 23rd, 2019, Boris Johnson in the ballot of Tory members – gained a 66.4% total share of the vote against Jeremy Hunt, and won the right to form government as the new British Prime Minister from July 24th, 2019 after the retiring of Theresa May.

Most Seats – Next UK General Election

Show odds in: UK EU US
William Hill
Royal Panda
Sport Nation
Liberal Democrats1212001312120013141400151010001112120013141400151010001114140015101000111414001512120013141400151212001314140015
Green Party5005000050125025000251250250002512502500025175075000751250250002515005000050125025000251250250002512502500025150050000501250250002512502500025125025000251
UKIP10001000001001   5005000050150050000501   50050000501100010000010015005000050150050000501500500005011000100000100150050000501   50050000501

uk parliamentThe UK Parliament is the highest governing and legislative body in Great Britain. It possesses ultimate powers in terms of legislation in the UK and its overseas territories. The Parliament is made up of 3 parts, even though it’s bicameral in nature. It consists of the House of Commons or primary chamber, House of Lords, which can only delay legislation, and the Sovereign or Queen-in-Parliament.

The Members of Parliament (MPs) are elected at general elections. The next general UK election is scheduled for 2022. It could have been moved up to this year should May’s government lost the vote of no confidence earlier in 2019, but the current Prime Minister prevailed. She won the vote 325-306, meaning she’ll stay in the office for 3 more years.

The UK general elections are held every 5 years, when the people vote for an MP to represent their interests in the House of Commons. The general elections are to be held the first Thursday in May every 5 years. Previously, the PM could call the general elections by going to the queen at any point within 5 years of the last one. However, the 2011 Fixed Term Parliament Act cemented the five-year gap.

May’s Conservative Party holds the most seats in the UK Parliament, with Jeremy Corbin’s Labour Party right behind. The Conservatives formed a government thanks to the support of DUP in 2017. The Labour Party is the biggest opposition party in the UK, with the Liberal Democrats on the second place. All other parties have much smaller influence in the UK Parliament due to the low number of seats in the House of Commons.

Next Liberal Dem Leader Betting Odds

The Liberal Democrats are among the biggest political parties in the UK. The party reached the height of its influence in the early 2010s after forming a junior coalition government (2010-2015) with former Prime Minister David Cameron and the Conservative Party. At that time, the Liberal Democrats were led by Nick Clegg who served as Deputy Prime Minister.

Although Clegg helped the party rise up on the British political scene, the junior coalition with the Conservatives hurt the Liberal Democrat’s electoral prospects. They lost a majority of votes in the 2015 general elections, facing heavy losses in Parliament. The Liberal Democrat seats went down to only eight. It was a hard time for Lib Dems, but a reality check as well.

Clegg was replaced with Tim Farron who led the Liberal Democrats between 2015 and 2017. After announcing his resignation, Farron was replaced by Sir Vince Cable, who serves as the party’s leader now. However, Cable has recently announced his resignation as well, leaving many to wonder who the next Liberal Democrat leader will be.

The Liberal Democrats are in bad shape recently, being overtaken by parties such as TIG. They need to make the right moves in order to regain their voters and eventually hope to get back on track. Sir Vince Cable has not named any favourites for the seat. However, no matter who replaces him, they will have a hard time getting the party back on track. British voters are hard to sway back, which means there’s a lot of work ahead for the Liberal Democrats.